Super Contributor

I am currently using Restasis twice a day for dry eye.  Since using this product for over a month I noticed dry mouth and a mild upset stomach that is not food related.  I have read some of the side effects and there are some people who have experienced this also.  Anyone have an input on these drops.

Valued Contributor

You have probably seen this, or similar

http://www.askapatient.com/viewrating.asp?drug=50790&name=RESTASIS

I felt my eyes go dry a few weeks ago.  I started using a humidifier, took ha capsules, and used a thermalon eye compress twice a day.  Also used Simalsan eye drops for "Aging Eyes."  My eyes feel better.

Honored Contributor

I have been using Restasis for several years now without encountering your issues, OP.  My dry eye is so severe that humidifiers, drops, extra fish oil, etc. and the Restasis are an every day thing -  and still some days my eyes are painful.  Dry eye sounds so innocent.  It's not.

The dry mouth could also be part of an overall drying throughout the body's membranes that many of us experience.  I assume you've checked in with your prescribing doctor????

Regular Contributor

Ive used Restasis for about 2 yrs.I didn't have the side effects you speak of.....My DR. told me it would be about 4 years before I would feel difference in my dry eyes.....I also was using over the counter eye gel drops which helped me much more than Restasis.....I use the eye drops 4 times aday.....The cost of Restasis was also a factor in my stopping it.Pharmacy called me and told me the increase and did I still want it filled I chose not too.Its been a year and  so far Im fine..... I had cataract surgery in both eyes and glycoma. Some are happy with Restasis but my Dr. and I  decided to stop it...

Honored Contributor

Similisan eye products contain Belladonna, which I would not use in my eyes.

Honored Contributor