Trusted Contributor

Metforman question

[ Edited ]

I was just prescribed Metformin because my AC1 is 7.1 and should be under 7. I am new to this drug and wonder if any of you have experience with this drug.  Will I ever get off of this drug? or will I be on it forever....or if I were to lose weight, would that help to keep me off Metformin?  I didn't have an opportunity to talk it over with my internist --I was just told over the phone that it was being prescribed for me today.

Thank you all for your support and suggestions. I should have given up soda and candy a long time ago, but was always just on the border and didn't worry about it. Now it is real.

Respected Contributor

@geegerbee I have been taking Metformin for about 10 years now and it seems to keep my AIC level consistent and managed throughout this time.  Just recently however, I have had some stomach distress and gastro problems which I attribute to Metformin.  I have over the past two weeks changed from taking Metformin in the AM to avoid the gastro problems and am taking it in the PM.  Working ok so far.  I have appt with my PCP at the end of May and will discuss with him.  Of course, all physicians tell us to lose weight and I have some friends who have dieted and have reduced their AIC levels.  Don't fret, but be sure to have a sit down with your physician to discuss all options.

Frequent Contributor

I was diagnosed as a type 2 diabetic in 2008.   Was put on met Metforman.  I followed the diabetic diet and lost 50#.   Was on the drug for 8 months.  I was able to discontinue the drug at that time.  I have been able to keep my A1c level in the high 5's through diet and exercise.  

Lose weight,  if necessary and exercise 5 days a week.  I joined a senior class in my town, low impact for 45 minutes, 5 days a week.  I'm happy with my results and so is my doctor.  

Good luck.  

Honored Contributor

Re: Metforman question

[ Edited ]