Esteemed Contributor

Re: HOW COMMON IS TB TESTING?

@Tinkrbl44 - I do remember my kids having TB tests when they had their annual exam every year.

One year my oldest daughter was in 2nd grade (I think) and had the standard test with that little gizmo on her skin. After about 3 days my other daughter looks at me and tells me her sister's arm looks red and funny. Sure enough she was having a positive to the test. Off to the doctor we go and they do the needle test - Mantoux test (?). She had to have this done 2 x and they kept track by using a marker on her skin. It grew to be a large area.

She spent a year on medication. We were all tested as well as other family members and were negative. So, where would she have come into contact with someone. Who knows.

Respected Contributor

I am a retired teacher.  We were required to get a TB test yearly.

Honored Contributor

@riley1 wrote:

@Tinkrbl44 - I do remember my kids having TB tests when they had their annual exam every year.

One year my oldest daughter was in 2nd grade (I think) and had the standard test with that little gizmo on her skin. After about 3 days my other daughter looks at me and tells me her sister's arm looks red and funny. Sure enough she was having a positive to the test. Off to the doctor we go and they do the needle test - Mantoux test (?). She had to have this done 2 x and they kept track by using a marker on her skin. It grew to be a large area.

She spent a year on medication. We were all tested as well as other family members and were negative. So, where would she have come into contact with someone. Who knows.

@riley1 

Plus all the masks and social distancing of the last year and a half, I can't imagine how I could have "caught" anything ...  from anyone. 

My only health crisis of this time period were two bug bites.  I survived.  lol 

Trusted Contributor