Respected Contributor

@cherry Interesting! I have not heard of it officially, but I had students, bro and sis. Bro was def. Aut.! Sis, tho, we ALL believed was trying to get attention bro got! Mom found a doc who bought into the whole mess and girl played them like a fiddle until high school teacher finally got thru to girl, giving her what she needed w/o having to be sick!

Never underestimate the power of kindness.
Honored Contributor

@Imadickens,  You and others might be interested in a thread @Noel7 started in Community Chat a couple of weeks ago:

AUTISM: New Discoveries, Genetic Connections & DNA Mutations

link goes to:

http://community.qvc.com/t5/Community-Chat/AUTISM-New-Discoveries-Genetic-Connections-amp-DNA-Mutati...

Few things reveal your intellect and your generosity of spirit—the parallel powers of your heart and mind—better than how you give feedback.~Maria Popova
Honored Contributor

I am no expert on Autism but have read quite a bit about it.  We have a 12 year old Grand Nephew who is on the spectrum.  He was conceived using a donor egg.   After years of research, my nephew and his wife learned, another egg of the same donor, resulted in a Downes baby. Truthfully, I do not know whether there is any significance to this.

Our GN was diagnosed when he was 4.  His mother (and I) suspected something when he was almost 2.  He was the most beautiful baby and toddler but he exhibited different behaviors.  He screamed whenever he had his diapers changed. He seldom made eye contact.  When he began talking, he'd repeat what you said to him, never giving his own response.  He had meltdowns that bordered on violent.

Lucky for us, after YEARS of intense therapy, he is a handsome & happy "normal-ish" 12 year old.  He still has some odd habits, but most kids do.