Trusted Contributor

Re: How to do cook your turkey?

I buy a turkey breast from Trader Joe's, season it, brown it in a pan.

I caramelize onions, cut celery and put those in an instant pot with turkey/chicken broth and really good drinking Sherry, and set the turkey breast on top and pressure cook. It's always moist and flavorful.

I lay more caramelized onions on top of the turkey breast before locking the lid and pushing the magical pressure button.

Trusted Contributor

@ECBG wrote:

@SXMGirl 

I roast in a 325 degree oven.  The spices should be good anywhere.  Poultry seasoning is delicious!!!!

I am a former Home Economics teacher.

What does that have to do with cooking a turkey? NADA.

Respected Contributor

Wash and dry turkey. Butter under the skin and some inside the bird. Salt and pepper in and out. Paprika and sage on the skin. Then I take an orange,squeeze some juice out and put juice and whole orange, celery and onion inside of bird. Oven at 350.

Respected Contributor

I go to my SIL's for Thanksgiving.  Haven't cooked my own bird in years.  I do make sausage stuffing every year to bring to her house.  I use the Bob Evans recipe

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

@layla2450 wrote:

@ECBG wrote:

@SXMGirl 

I roast in a 325 degree oven.  The spices should be good anywhere.  Poultry seasoning is delicious!!!!

I am a former Home Economics teacher.

What does that have to do with cooking a turkey? NADA.

@layla2450 : Comment kinda harsh. 

Regular Contributor