Honored Contributor

@deepwaterdotter wrote:

I saw a pallet of baking ingredients sitting at the end of an aisle.  I'm not proud to admit that I broke open the plastic wrapping around 6 bags of Pillsbury All-Purpose flour in order to get one 5-pound bag to purchase.  The shelf was empty.

@deepwaterdotter It's perfectly ok to open that pallet.  The flour was going out anyway.

Honored Contributor

Combining cake flour or another soft flour (rye?) with bread flour will give you the results you want. I was very lucky to stumble upon some all-purpose flour the other day so I got an extra five pounds. As a regular bread baker, I keep some stock on hand all the time. I have about seven pounds of AP, eight pounds of bread flour, four pounds of whole wheat, four pounds of rye, and seven pounds of self-rising flour. I'm good to go for a while.

I'd ordered two pounds of Red Star instant yeast last month from Amazon, that's in my freezer. I was a little disappointed in it in my first bread as it barely rose. I then did a couple of tests and discovered it likes hotter water than the old Fleischmann's yeast I'd been using. With my old yeast, I could use pretty much room temp water with no trouble, but the Red Star really wants water that's at least 110 degrees to wake up. A few proof tests revealed that secret. In room temp water it just sits there and does nothing. Get it in hot water and it springs to life and grows like mad. I've always tried to err on the side of too cool as it won't kill the yeast while too hot will, but the Red Star really wants the heat.

Fly!!! Eagles!!! Fly!!!
Respected Contributor

@momtodogs , if you're in the mood for pizza, and have the time, I highly recommend Nancy Silverton's pizza dough recipe,....which calls for bread flour.

Don't be intimidated by the steps involved. It's really very simple to make.

Nancy Silverton's Pizza Dough - Serious Eats  

@gardenman, thanks SO much for the tip about Red Star yeast!

Muddling through...