Esteemed Contributor

I've been feeding the Hummers for a few years.  Never use that red store "nectare"..

I don't boil my water either. I just use warm water so the sugar mixes.  I love these little jewels flitting around my home.  Clean feeders often,they get black mold in them.

Trees are the lungs of the Earth
Honored Contributor

There are many reasons why you may not be seeing hummingbirds at your feeder.  If it's a new feeder, it takes a while for them to find it and realize it's going to be there so they can come back.  

Depending upon your location, the hummingbird you originally saw at your feeder may have just been migrating to another area.

I have had hummies at my feeders for several weeks now since they were early this year.  Only a few males come in first, then the females come a few weeks later.  In season I will have about 60 birds, but right now all I see at any given time is two to three.

Also right now, the few pairs that have come have started nesting and I see them at the feeders even less than in the past few weeks.

And finally, you may actually have more hummingbirds coming to your feeder than you think.  They often come, drink quickly, then leave, and you don't happen to see them.  Especially with a new feeder in a new territory, they are leery of staying too long at a food source until they know that it's safe.  When new to your feeder, often when you approach the window to get a closer look, they'll fly away.

Be patient.  If you keep a feeder out and have seen birds in the past, they'll come.  You may have to try another spot if you see them close by but not using the feeder.  And change the liquid often and keep the feeder clean.

Valued Contributor

Thank you for all the great advice.  I will keep trying!  Smiley Happy

Highlighted
Honored Contributor