Honored Contributor

I have 3 slow cookers. One holds about 16 oz, great for dips. One holds about 2 quarts. And one holds 6 quarts. I use the 6 quart all the time. My son bought it for me. So of course it has every bell and whistle.

I have never done anything except turn it on and push the low or high button. Have not touched any of the other buttons or used the temperature probe. But I admit I am a low tech person.

My 6 quart slow cooker is a Hamilton Beach. The 2 little guys are Crock-pots. I rarely used the Crock-pots just because of their size. The Hamilton Beach is about 10 years old and worked like a charm.

Frequent Contributor

I have the Crock-Pot brand.  Got it at Costco.  I have recently started using "liner bags" you can buy in the supermarket that make the clean-up a breeze.  

Esteemed Contributor

Re: Slow Cookers

[ Edited ]

I currently have a 6-quart slow cooker from Hamilton Beach that has been working beautifully for many years; I used to have a 6-quart slow cooker from Crock Pot, but when I wanted a new one and chose the HB version, I gave the CP version to my sister, and she has continued to use it with no issues. I also have a 3.5-quart slow cooker from Crock Pot that I use for smaller meals. All of these cookers are the traditional style with high and low settings only.

Three years ago, I decided I "needed" the adorable new 7-quart slow cooker featuring Pixar characters for all of our Pixar movie nights; it is made by Select Brands and has also been working nicely, though I use it less often than the HB slow cooker.

I should also add that I bought a multicooker last year, and I feel that it does not do as well with the slow cooking function as it does with the pressure cooking function, so I've continued to use my slow cookers when that's the type of recipe I'm making.