Honored Contributor

Pot Roast Pros... advice please.

I have a 3.3 lb chuck roast.

I'd like to cook it in my oven, low and slow until it's falling apart.

I have a LeCreuset Dutch oven.

Can someone tell me what to do to get those results?  

I have very little experience with beef.

Thank you.

~ house cat ~
Esteemed Contributor

Re: Pot Roast Pros... advice please.

I would roast that in a slow cooker ( thus getting the results you are looking for)  on low at least 8 hours.  You can put the vegetables in with it.   Yum!!  Sounds good, what time is dinner???  LOL   Not sure about the oven method, sorry.

Honored Contributor

I'd like to hear more replies too.  I'm sure by cooking it in a slow cooker for many hours you get good results.  

Honored Contributor

I'd put it in a dutch oven that is not too big for it so the liquid won't boil away, maybe some diced tomatoes and beef broth?  The liquid should nearly come up to the top of the roast.

You can add onions, celery and some spices you like for flavoring or poke a few holes in the roast and put in slivers of garlic.

Roast at 250 degrees for 8 to 12 hours.   Check liquid occasionally.  Don't let it boil away.  Roast should pull apart ad 195 to 205 degrees.  It varies.  Check with a fork during after 8 hours, then occasionally to see if it is where you want it.  

Trusted Contributor

[ Edited ]

I always make my pot roast in my Le Cruset,  I put the roast in the pan and add about 2 cups of beef broth, then I put my potatoes and carrots around the meat and sprinkle Lipton dry onion soup mix all over the meat and veggies I usually use two soup packets.  Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 3 hrs.  My roasts are always so tender.  This was my mom's recipe that I grew up on.

Honored Contributor

@LindaSal

Thank you.  The info I found online says it will take about

2 1/2 hours at 350°... so that means dinner will be around 5 o'clock.  I like to eat early on Sunday so I can clean up and have a relaxing evening.