Honored Contributor

Re: How Often Do You and DH Have Leftovers?

@house_cat wrote:

On Monday I make something that can be transformed later in the week. 

For instance, I'll make a generous portion of salmon, and then add it to a pasta dish on Wednesday. Or I'll grill chicken and serve it with baked potato and a veggie, then on Thursday it shows up atop a spinach salad.  In other words, they are leftovers in disguise :-)

@house_cat, All of those sound yummy.  He won't eat a main dish salad although I do quite often.  I wish!

Honored Contributor

Throughout our marriage, we have always planned weekly menus for three meals that will serve us twice. The remaining day we wing it.

I was a pretty good cook in the early days, but now my husband, who is just a natural-born cook who amazes me with his talent, does the cooking.

So his food is wonderful the first time and even better the second time. I am a very lucky person. :-)

~Who in the world am I? Ah, that's the great puzzle~ Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland
Honored Contributor

I love not having to cook a new meal every night, so I love good leftovers.  That's exactly what a casserole is and I love casseroles.  I collect recipes for updated healthy casseroles.

The other night I made one of our favorite chicken recipes: chicken tenders in an apricot preserves balsamic reduction.  Enough for night #2!

I'll also get enough salmon to have leftovers for lunch the next day atop a salad.

Respected Contributor

cook 3 nights enoght for 3 for nights. my wife does the same thing. she plans a menu for the next week that we discuss and she writes shopping list and i go shopping.

Respected Contributor