Contributor

Help with Thanksgiving Stuffing

Hi Ladies,

I would like to ask if anyone has a good stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey. That is on thing I have not mastered. I would say I am just an average cook and my family likes just a plain ordinary good tasting stuffing. We don't like sausage, oysters, cranberries, cornbread in it. I usually use the Pepperidge Farms bag stuffing and put celery, onions and chicken broth and some Bell's seasoning in it, but it never tastes good to me. One time I used the Bell's box stuffing mix, but that wasn't much better. I would really appreciate any suggestions you good cooks have. I am fixing dinner for quite a few this year and need all the help I can get. Hope you all have a wonderful and blessed Thanksgiving.

Trusted Contributor

Re: Help with Thanksgiving Stuffing

Google stuffing recipes, & look for one that calls for day-old baguettes or ciabattas, and simple sautéed onions, celery, maybe carrots, seasonings & a lot of butter! The last is the secret!
Esteemed Contributor

I don't like to use a seasoning mix. I use good quality rubbed sage as the only seasoning. Also, make sure you saute your celery and onions in butter and dump the whole thing, butter and all into the mix.

It's God's job to judge the terrorists. It's our mission to arrange the meeting. U.S. Marines
Trusted Contributor

Anyone remember Uneeda biscuits? They made the best stuffing ever. I'm always looking for a substitute, but no luck yet.
Regular Contributor

onions and celery cut up and cooked until soft in butter (1 stick) I like mine still crunchy so I don't cook it until soft

day old can biscuits, salt, pepper, poultry seasoning, herbs-sage, thyme, rosemary

1 egg

broth