Honored Contributor

DO YOU MAKE YOGURT?

[ Edited ]

I have been making yogurt for at least 30 years and I like it so much better than "store-bought."  I have some going now and I can't wait until it is done.  

It isn't as tart and is creamier than most bought yogurt.  I add  some fruit, honey, preserves and/or cereal for crunch!  I LOVE it!

I have always used a yogurt maker and have had few failures--either with yogurt as a starter or the powder starter.  I am using 2 percent Lactaid in this batch.  Sometimes I strain it for "Greek" yogurt and sometimes I transfer it to smaller single serving jars.  We cook with it and put it on baked potatoes too.

Honored Contributor

Yes, I do ferment it myself. Not always. Sometimes the family eats up what I saved for starter so I end up buying some. I've never used a yogurt maker. I've fermented it next to the wood stove in winter back when we had one, and I've fermented it sous vide, but most of the time I just use my Excalibur dehydrator to ferment because I can fit a 3 qt jar in it. I also use an airlock now and ferment yogurt in my Pickl-it jars with the airlock.

I like the way it tastes that way. I've used different starters but now days I mostly just use commerical Greek yogurt as starter. I only use one kind of milk though, a local one that is full fat and non homogenized from Jersey cows because it has the highest fat and sets up the thickest with just miik and starter.  I don't add dry milk powder. We used to have a Jersey cow and dairy goats so I've done raw before also. 

Don't Change Your Authenticity for Approval
Honored Contributor

I made yogurt all the time in my trusty little yogurt maker, but it died and I never started up again. If I'm not mistaken yogurt doesn't thicken up using skim milk and I follow a cardiac diet so I don't bother making it any more. I really try to stay away from dairy, although I love it.

Esteemed Contributor