Frequent Contributor

I like the bread from my bread machine better than store bought, but it goes stale after just a day.  How do you wrap it to keep it fresh other than freezing it?  Does a bread box help?

Honored Contributor

It must be frozen or eaten up in one day.

'cuz every girl's crazy 'bout a sharp dressed man
Honored Contributor

I toast my leftovers.

" You are entitled to your opinion. But you are not entitled to your own facts."
Daniel Patrick Moynihan
Frequent Contributor

i bought plastic bread bags from Amazon and use twist ties.  My machine bread is good for about 3 to 4 days.  About the same as when I buy bread from Panera. 

Frequent Contributor

I also bought bread bags from Amazon AND I store that in a large lock and lock. We get 5 to 6 days of freshness 

I have been making our bread since 2003

We also have an old qvc 50 in 50 tour bread slicer that is great and also try not to handle the bread alot. Nothing worse than a dirty hand all over the loaf today and tomorrow you have loaf covered with mold.

Honored Contributor

Re: Bread Machine

[ Edited ]

We started making the 1 lb loaf recipes for bread.

I keep it in Debbie Meyer Green Box so it lasts longer.

Sure it's better right after it's made but we are still eating ours 5 days later.

DH has toast every morning with jam or peanut butter & honey.

DH also rolls out the dough to make in pan he wants instead of making in the bread machine. He hates the shape size it makes. He generally uses the the 9" Pain de Mie pan (pullman pan) with lid so it looks just like a regular sandwich sliced bread.

We don't care for bread that has been in the freezer. We do freeze hamburger buns that we make.

I use the Bread Machine Magic Revised Edition cookbook by Linda Rehberg & Lois Conway. It has 1 lb, 1 1/2 lb & 2 lb loaf recipes that use 2, 3 or 4 cups flour.

All the recipes we have made from it have been good.

Have been making the Buttermilk recipe lately. It's really good.

Frequent Contributor