Esteemed Contributor

Anyone ever have their Pyrex explode?

My daughter sent me a link about Pyrex glassware exploding in the oven. I have been using Pyrex and Anchor Hocking casserole dishes for 30 years and I have never had a problem nor have any of my friends.

I know that you have to use common sense and not put a glass dish straight from the Fridge to the oven, but some comments said that dishes exploded just sitting on the counter.

Just wondered if anyone here had this happen......

Respected Contributor

Re: Anyone ever have their Pyrex explode?

Nope.. I've been using them for over 60 years and have never had even the slightest issue with them. Applies to both Pyrex and Corning Ware.

BTW, I wish QVC would start selling those "boring white dishes" that they show on their cooking shows. They look much nicer than all that fru fru on Temptations now days.

Respected Contributor

Yes. Right after we married I was baking a cherry cobbler in a Pyrex baking dish at 350 degrees. We were in the kitchen when it happened. My husband heard a pop and then smoke started coming out of the oven. When he opened the door, the cobbler was all over the inside of the oven. I haven't used Pyrex since and that was over 30 years ago.

ETA: I don't own Temptations so I can't speak about how they hold up. My mama taught me how to cook starting around the age of 10. The first thing she taught me was safety in the kitchen. Sometimes you just get a defective piece of cookware and it malfunctions or breaks when it shouldn't. It doesn't mean you don't know what you are doing or you aren't using the cooking vessel properly.

Esteemed Contributor

I have had one for over 40 years that I would love to explode. I have difficulty cleaning it. Baked on stuff all the time. I spend a better part of an hour trying to make it perfect. Not working for me.

Respected Contributor

On 3/29/2015 Perkup said: