Super Contributor

Mouse in the house!

[ Edited ]

I have a mouse/mice in my house.  I've only seen the evidence in my basement.  I have no idea where they are getting in; it could be anywhere.  I have no experience with an exterminator, but I know I need one.  What do exterminators do for a mouse/mice problem if you can't find the entryway?    TIA.

Esteemed Contributor

DH puts bait boxes with 2 different poisons in the crawlspace and garage every fall. 

Honored Contributor

@seaswirl   I had to use an exterminator a few years ago.  He put poison bait boxes in both bathroom cabinets and kitchen cabinet and in the air return vent.  He also happened to find the entry in the bathroom cabinet and filled it.  You must find the entry point and fill it.  Caulk doesn't stop them from coming in.  Steel wool and copper mesh work.

Just recently I saw a mouse in my house and looked, and the hole that the exterminator had filled with caulk had been chewed through.  I had a handyman here for something else and had him fill the hole with steel wool.  I haven't seen evidence of one since then.

The Bluebird Carries The Sky On His Back"
-Henry David Thoreau

Frequent Contributor

Try an ultrasonic pest repellent.  We had several mice tried mouse traps, did not work,  bought the ultrasonic & no more mice.

Respected Contributor

@Jrzgirl wrote:

Try an ultrasonic pest repellent.  We had several mice tried mouse traps, did not work,  bought the ultrasonic & no more mice.

Just make sure that you Do Not use an ultrasonic pet repellent if you have any pet rodents such as hamsters, mice, gerbils, guinea pigs or pet rats in your house.

Those machines are very harmful to them.

Esteemed Contributor

@seaswirl wrote: