Respected Contributor

Accepted offer on the house and now, they have "a list" of everything they want fixed and they are bringing in their own contractors to get an evaluation of what needs to be done and how much.

So what's the magic number for all of this to go away and let them think they won?

Honored Contributor

You have to decide what you will accept and what you won't.We went through that same thing and we just agreed to a few of their demands snd refused on others.They are just hopeful that you will accept all but it is up to you.How much interest did you have in the house and how much does it mean to you to wrap this sale up quickly...did you get a good price with room to go ahead and do some of the repairs or do you want to wait it out..it's all a gambling game in some ways.

Respected Contributor

Re: Let the Games Begin

[ Edited ]

I'm no expert, but I'd rather subtract $$$ off the price than do work.  That way, you sell the house and they're responsible for making sure the job is done right.

Honored Contributor

I went through that when I sold my parents condo.  We knew there were a number of condos in the complex for sale, knew it needed work and knew how much we paid a month to let it sit empty.  I took $3k off the price.  The buyer was happy as a clam.  

I wouldn't fix anything.  I think I'd offer what was reasonable.  Like do you agree with everything they say is wrong and are you willing to let them walk. You could meet them in the middle too.

Trusted Contributor

Re: Let the Games Begin

[ Edited ]

@Just Bling - that's pretty normal in a real estate selling transaction.

You can either fix it all, fix some of it, fix none of it and not give any discount (they may walk away)

OR fix none of it an knock some $ off the price.

Although you make less on the sale if you knock down the price, you're also not out of pocket for any repairs and the buyer's tax bill will be lower, which is attractive to some buyers.