Highlighted
Respected Contributor

Windows 10 New Spring Update

[ Edited ]

Has anyone downloaded this and have you had any problems? I read there has been problems since they waited to release this. Even though this was suppose to be fixed before releasing this it is messing up some computers. 

Since the Windows 10 updates automatically download it was better in Windows 7 as you could stop them until you wanted to download them.

I have been using my iPads this week as I don’t want my new computer messed up.

Thanks.

Valued Contributor

Re: Windows 10 New Spring Update

Boy did I have problems - and I am a retired Software Engineer.

My main issue is that it slowed down significantly.  I had to turn off malware protection under windows defender.  Created a DWORD - DisableAntiSpyware and set it to 1 using regedit.

Regular Contributor

Thanks for the info.

Respected Contributor

[ Edited ]

Thanks @LexaMom. I am afraid if I turn my computer on it will automatically start the update. This is an article I got in a newsletter about computers that I get.

A30C59C6-4D59-49A3-B266-626B4CF22CA2.jpeg

I hopefully will see a new fixed update on the 15th. 

Win Update Stop v1.3

This small Windows OS utility allows you to manually disable or enable automatic Windows updates. Sometimes you may want to stop Windows updates so you can choose when to download and install new Windows updates. As you know, Windows updates are very important but they are also known to occasionally create some incompatibilities or problems with the Operating System and the applications installed. Use this utility to block Windows updates and re-enable them when you desire.

Frequent Contributor