Frequent Contributor

I am looking at purchasing a smart tv.  I have been looking at Samsung's 5200 series.  Are you really able to browse the internet on these televisons?  Is there a better way like Roku?  I am new to this kind of technology.  Thanks for any guidance!

Esteemed Contributor

Re: Smart TV question

[ Edited ]

@LORIO wrote:

I am looking at purchasing a smart tv.  I have been looking at Samsung's 5200 series.  Are you really able to browse the internet on these televisons?  Is there a better way like Roku?  I am new to this kind of technology.  Thanks for any guidance!

I recently bought a Samsung JS9000 series TV set. The 9000 is the top Samsung series with only the 9500 model higher than our 9000.

The 5200 series does have a web browser so you should be able to access the full Internet with this series. Not sure what processor this model uses, if it is "dual core or quad core". Our 9000 model has an "octacore" processor, which is an 8 core. I would make sure it has "JS" in front of the 5200, that way you will know it is a 2015 model, not an older version.

Have never used Roku so can't help you with that issue. Love our Samsung and have yet to see any other 4k model brand that is even close to the picture quality of our Samsung.

hckynut(john)

hckynut(john)
Highlighted
Frequent Contributor

Thank you for your help!

Frequent Contributor

Just purchased a Sumsung 5200 series 40" Smart TV.   Yes you can browse the internet.  My suggestion is if you are going to use it a lot for the internet is to get a wireless keyboard.  Using the remote an on screen keyboard is very slow going.

This TV was a breeze to set up.   I was concerned because the TV I had was very old and was leary of setting up a new one.  Took it out of the box pluged in my cable and it connected to my wireless internet immediately after turning on.   Of course there were some updates that needed to load.  Love this TV, sorry I took so long in deciding to buy one.