Esteemed Contributor

I just stumbled upon several old Android cellphones , while cleaning out a drawer. I don't have the charging cables & they don't turn on, so they can't be restored to factory settings. My question is can I just throw them out? I'm concerned about private information that may have been stored on these phones.

Thank you

Trusted Contributor

Re: Question About Cell Phones

While i am no techie, If I were to throw them out, I would beat them up with a hammer first to make sure they are totally unusable.  Having said that, Police stations or at least they used too around here take old cell phones and give them to places like battered womens shelters and things like that.  I would contact the company that made the phones and see what kind of advice they can give you.

Honored Contributor

Your local trash collection may have a way to get rid of them, same as old computers, so the batteries and other poisonous stuff does seep into the earth.  

BE THE PERSON YOUR DOG THINKS YOU ARE! (unknown)
Honored Contributor

@Miss Pepsi wrote:

While i am no techie, If I were to throw them out, I would beat them up with a hammer first to make sure they are totally unusable.  Having said that, Police stations or at least they used too around here take old cell phones and give them to places like battered womens shelters and things like that.  I would contact the company that made the phones and see what kind of advice they can give you.

depending on how old they are you could probably pull up your account and delete your self from that phone 

Honored Contributor