Valued Contributor

Help with HP Office Jet 5212 printer

Ok, I'm not good with technology.  All of a sudden my wireless printer lost it's connection with wifi.  My laptop is fine so it's not the router.  My internet provider came and tried to fix it but was unable to.  I've only had the printer for a little over a year and he said he thinks the power cord got fried.  He said I could get a cable and bypass the power cord by connecting the printer to the router with the cable cord.  Does anyone have any experience with this?  I tried contacting HP but that was a joke!  Any advice will be appreciated. 

Respected Contributor

Re: Help with HP Office Jet 5212 printer

that is one way to see if the printer is still working is to connect it with the cable instead of through Wi-Fi.  It seems if a cable person came out and couldn't get it connected that may be your only option. You could try googling it and see what kind of answers are out there. 

My printer is Wi-Fi capable but I have never used it, I am connected by cable, but I'm not printing from a laptop.  

Esteemed Contributor

@coconut1818

You maybe able to connect this printer to a computer using a cable. If the printer can turn on, look around your home for a USB-A printer cable.

Amazon sells a UGreen brand 10ft cable for $8.19 with a $1 discount. 

I found a YouTube channel RevieweLamp. You will find a unboxing and setup video that can help.  

Honored Contributor