Regular Contributor

I have a laptop, and the mouse froze today. I'm on a poetry board and will be on it all day tomorrow, and am in need! I don't understand what happened, but my hubby gave me an external mouse which I've never used before and it works, but slow and not used to it. Can you please tell me how to get my mouse, unfrozen??? LOL! Not funny to me with so much going on. HELP!!!!!

Frequent Contributor

Put your problem in a browser search bar and hit enter. An example might be - the brand of laptop, etc. like..... HP Laptop Mouse Frozen then hit the enter key. I have always found solutions to whatever is causing problems - by searching the internet. You can read the title of the links given to you, and decide which ones sound exactly like what is happening to you. Be as specific as you can - about your laptop - besides just the brand name.

Good luck!

Occasional Contributor

Respected Contributor

If you are talking about the touchpad, doing a Google search for HP laptop mouse frozen probably won't do any good. Have you tried rebooting the computer? Here is what I found:

"Okay be sure to perform a hard reset to release the stored energy from the notebook. Perform this by:

1. unplugging all accessories and the power cord.
2. Turn the notebook over and make sure that it is turned off.
3. Remove the battery
4. Hold down the power button for 10 seconds which releases the energy
5. Re-insert the battery, plug in the charger and turn it on."

If that doesn't work, post back.

Regular Contributor
On 6/16/2014 glb613 said:

If you are talking about the touchpad, doing a Google search for HP laptop mouse frozen probably won't do any good. Have you tried rebooting the computer? Here is what I found:

"Okay be sure to perform a hard reset to release the stored energy from the notebook. Perform this by:

1. unplugging all accessories and the power cord.
2. Turn the notebook over and make sure that it is turned off.
3. Remove the battery