Honored Contributor

Re: What counts most when you are looking to rent

@sunshine45 wrote:

sooooooo i will add this since i guess i interpreted the thread in the wrong way.

i used to be an apartment complex manager a while ago.

it was for a company that had numerous apartment complexes in our county.

we always had prospective tenants fill out an application and that cost $25 (which included a credit check via a separate company.) results of that check along with previous rental history and satisfactory income were part the top three items that were examined.

you could usually fill out an application on monday and potentially be in an apartment by monday or tuesday if you were approved and needed one that quickly.

for those NOT approved we usually required a qualified co-signer (who also had to fill out an application AND sign the lease) OR a double security deposit in some cases.

@sunshine45  Just out of curiosity, how did you define satisfactory income?  I'm seeing where most places want 3X the rent which in my area is well over $30,000 which no entry level person is going to make.   

I am wondering if all the kids nowadays must have parent cosigners on everything.  It's a whole new world from when I grew up.  I don't see how you start out on your own anymore.      

Esteemed Contributor

When we rented for 6.5 months I don’t think the complex asked for anything. My parents put in their income and that was it. Never had to verify it. I don’t believe they even ran a credit check. They might of but they were never aware they did.

Respected Contributor

Before renting an apartment it is good to check the area at night. See what is going on in the neighborhood. How safe the exits are in the building, and how accessible the entry to the apartment is. The lighting around the entrance and in the hallway, the noise and the activity, et cetera.  Sometimes the area and the building can be different at night.

Respected Contributor

@SahmIam wrote: