Respected Contributor

The present and future of farms in the U.S.

[ Edited ]

This is part of a story from the Savannah (GA) Morning News.  Appeared today in the metro Atlanta newspaper.

Pete Waller is a business man by trade but a farmer by heart. The 89- year-old runs an insulation business where he earns most of his living, but his real pride and joy is cultivating the 150-acres of fertile soil that is Ottawa Farms, one of the last remaining farms in Chatham County, GA.

Waller spends his mornings herding cattle, running the lengths of green pastures in his tractor and spitting chewing tobacco into a red Solo nestled in the cupholder of his truck. 

He doesn’t need to be working out in the fields, but he does it anyway. 

“I like to smell that dirt when you plow it up,” Waller chuckled. “I enjoy cutting that hay and rolling it back.”

He’s wearing a dress shirt and polka-dot suspenders. But for the purposes of farm work, he’s in denim jeans and sneakers. 

“It’s in your blood, you can’t get it out.”

But Waller, a third-generation farmer, recognizes the changing agricultural landscape. He watched the 150 acres of land his grandfather first purchased in 1873 grow to around 800. Now he’s back to 150, as plans to lease and develop the remaining acreage into warehouses come to fruition. 

“The math is not there to hold onto the land today,” said Waller, speaking of skyrocketing property values pushing out smaller-scale farmers like him. “It’s the writing on the wall.”

Waller, however, is business savvy. He said there’s no plans to sell the land outright as he still owns the parcels. 

“You don’t sell the goose that lays the golden egg; we leased the goose,” Waller said with a laugh.