Honored Contributor

Re: The History Of Measles In America

Hi mstyrion Smiley Happy

Wow, I had high fevers too, but not that bad!  I know you had to have felt terrible. 

A Thrill Of Hope The Weary World Rejoices
Honored Contributor

JJM, re:

"Not that it matters, but I have a Bachelors in Nursing from an acredited 4 year University and I spent many years working in Medical/Surgical and finally Pediatric Nursing as my occupation.

I hardly think I am a less informed individual."

Don't take it personally, apparently she doesn't recognize the CDC as experts, either.

A Thrill Of Hope The Weary World Rejoices
Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor

Uggg.  I recall having the measles three times as a child. 

Never Forget the Native American Indian Holocaust
Valued Contributor

[ Edited ]

I would think that any well-informed person in a developed, 1st world country really ought to know how communicable and dangerous the measles can be.

I personally also think that people ought to know the impact which measles had upon populations, including that of the USA, until not all that long ago.

I don't think it takes or should take medical credentials to know what can affect, afflict and.or otherwise impact one's life (not to mention the entire global population).

One can be well-informed on myriad things without necessarily needing to prove that one is an "'expert" in the field. In the end, we're all responsible for our own awareness of things in the world. Even an expert is meaningless if no one heeds or reads (or learns) from what s/he might know.

Its everyone's responsibility, especially if one is a parent perhaps, to know all about (or as much as possible) about a slew of things: from measles epidemics, to sex ed to drugs to what some hip hop artist might be trying to convey in his/her lyrics.

Does it make a parent a HIP HOP artist to know what "all the kids are listening to"? No.