Honored Contributor

There is a person I would like to honor today. Please feel free to mention anyone you wish  All  who served in various wars fighting for freedom, ours, or others

The first person I would like to honor is a lady that used to come into the Thrift shop. She was a strongly built lady, and carried herself very erect.

I can't recall her name now, but I still remember her. She was disabled due to PTSD. She had been a nurse during the Korean War. One day she came in looking really bedraggled , which was a bit of a shock, because she always was nicely put together

I asked  if she had been ill, and she said, in a way. I was a nurse during the Korean War. It left me with bad memories. Sometimes I can't sleep. I always tell people when I am sleeping never touch me. Call out my name ,but never touch me ,unless I am fully awake.

I sleep with a gun ,or a weapon under my pillow, and  if I am startled, I wake up swingin. The older ladies ( I was still a young woman back then )began talking about what a bad war that was. It was a war, no matter how many times I heard it described as the Korean Conflict.

I don't know if she had anyone to remember her. I would like to. She might not be alive now. I have no idea. But I would like to thank her for her service

Honored Contributor

@cherry    Good reason to think of this nurse for Memorial Day tributes. 

I’d like to remember my dad, who was recently buried in his state’s veterans cemetery.  He was a humble and giving man, who became very successful but always remembered his early life and how some families struggle to just feed and house their children.  I’m honored to be a part of the charitable foundation he set up to continue his good work. 

Esteemed Contributor