Super Contributor

Here's my question...I have had three interviews for a job I REALLY want (one in person with the gentleman who would be my direct boss, and two via phone - one with the Head of HR and one with the head of the dept I would be working in) - I have tremendous experience (over 20 years) and one thing in my favor is that I live in the city where the job would be located...the company has invited me to the corporate office (across the country)  to meet in person with several of the top executives.

I think this is a good sign, but am nervous about my age - I know I look a good 10-15 years younger than I am, and my (potential) direct supervisor has met me in person, but I would love to know from HR professionals - how strong a "hiring signal" is the invitation to the corporate offices?

I have been invited to corporate offices before - twice I got the job and one time I didn't.

Thoughts???  Advice???

Super Contributor
I am a retired corporate HR manager now but I doubt thatthey would not be spending money to fly you to their corporate office if they weren't very interested in you. Take a deep breath and enjoy the trip. I think you have a good shot at this position.
Contributor

I'm trying to figure out what looking younger has to do with anything, since your years of experience tells them your age.  People on this board are very overly obsessed with looks. If you are neat,clean and appropriately professional that is what they care about, appearance wise. Go in and tell them why you are the best qualified. Unless the job is to be a model or on TV or something.

Respected Contributor

Hello, Sunnyfield, I am not in that field but in my profession only strong candidates, those on the short list, are flown in for interviewing by the top execs.