Respected Contributor

Re: How much snow do you have as of mid-day 1/22/16?

[ Edited ]

@151949 wrote:

We had a huge blizzard in Pittsburgh in 1993 - I was already at work when it started so , since we did not get relieved we had to stay and continue working - I was there from Friday evening at 7PM until monday morning at 9 AM. No one came in to relieve us and we took catnaps as we were able but basically worked continuously for 64 hours. At least in a hospital we could take a shower and put on clean scrubs each day - I always had a spare set of clothes including underwear & socks in my locker in case anyone threw up or bled all over me so I was better off than most. And they did provide food for us as well. in the end they paid us all triple time from midnight Friday until we got relieved. It was a nice bonus.

I remember that storm very well.  I worked in a hospital as well, they left all non essential personnel go at 2:30pm.  However, that was too late.  Traffic was total grid lock and my usual 40 minute commute took 5 hours.

I was thankful I had a full tank of gas.

When I finally made it into my driveway, the snow was up to my bumper.  I  left the car and walked up the 700 feet to the house.  I then went out and shoveled off my elevated deck.

Anyway, the snow hasn't started here yet. (3:00pm)  We are about 30 miles NE of Pittsburgh.

Honored Contributor

@Goldengate8361 wrote:

8" (at least) here in Nashville at 2 pm. Pretty.....but I'm already ready for it to go away. 

I agree!  But it's still snowing! Smiley Sad

Fate whispers to her, "You cannot withstand the storm." She whispers back, "I am the storm."

Honored Contributor

Be safe out there. If shoveling snow take breaks, it doesn't have to get done all at once. No snow yet to LI but the clouds are here.

☼The best place to seek God is in a garden. You can dig for him there. GBShaw☼
Honored Contributor