Honored Contributor

@Poodlepet2 wrote:

I would call that "acceptance"-but let's change that to "clearing the mind"....just try it-you have nothing to lose.  You are just focusing on the simple act of breathing-nothing more.

It may not be as easy for you as it sounds-and I am not a doctor-I don't know you at all-but the whole point of this exercise is to simply clear your mind by focusing on your breath: nothing more is required.

Hugs,

Poodlepet2

Yes, always  come back to watching your breath as the thoughts come, as they inevitably will .  The longer you practice the better it gets.

I must say that I did not appreciate it when you said that my "way" was a pointless exercise.

That's all.

Peace to you and all here.

Respected Contributor

Kittylou, please accept my apology: I meant no offense. I should have worded it differently, and I meant no malice. Let's "hug it out"

Peace and Joy to you,

Poodlepet2

Honored Contributor

@Poodlepet2 wrote:

Kittylou, please accept my apology: I meant no offense. I should have worded it differently, and I meant no malice. Let's "hug it out"

Peace and Joy to you,

Poodlepet2

Thank you, Poodlepet2.  You know, I think we both were talking about essentially the same thing, that focusing on your breath is the essence of the practice.   I am sorry if I misunderstood the intent of your words.

Hugs to you.  

Respected Contributor

That's very difficult for me to do sometimes.  I've tried meditation but somehow intrusive thoughts creep back in.  

What I've learned is as soon as my mind starts to wander, I start all over with my relaxing thoughts.   I have trained myself to do an internal reset every time an intrusive thought takes over.   It's not a perfect system, but it helps.  

Interesting thread...

Honored Contributor

@bri20 wrote:

That's very difficult for me to do sometimes.  I've tried meditation but somehow intrusive thoughts creep back in.