Honored Contributor

Re: HAS ANYONE BEEN A POLL WORKER?

Too much close personal contact with strangers.  That's probably why they desperately need workers.  Nobody wants to risk their life.

New Mexico☀️Land Of Enchantment
Esteemed Contributor

I loved working the Polls and did so when we lived in IL, PA, Ohio and back to Lincoln for over 15 years. It was fun and helpful (mostly for the elderly).

I've been voting my mail for the past 10-12 years, which I feel the State of Nebraska should adapt as a cost-savings method as well as a safety measure for the health of all Polls workers and those voting. It's being discussed and will be determined by the turn-out vs. those requesting mail-in votes for the next elections. Seems a little late, but better late than never!

Money screams; wealth whispers.
Esteemed Contributor

Thank you all for your replies, comments, and suggestions. I know better what to expect now. I hope that the voting goes smoothly all across the country. It will be interesting, if nothing else!
Always remember that you are absolutely unique. Just like everyone else. Margaret Mead
Valued Contributor

I was Judge of Elections in my precinct when I lived in PA.

As the person in command of the polling place, the duties of the Judge of Elections are as follows:

Pick up the voter registration binder and other paperwork from a designated place;
Verify the voting machine serial numbers against the keys and documentation;
Swear in the poll workers, assign duties and have them sign their oaths of office;
Schedule relief periods and fill any vacancies in the poll staff;
Set up the polling place and machines;
Open the doors promptly at 7 AM;
Spend the day helping neighbors vote;
Close the polls promptly at 8 PM;
Tally the votes and seal the machines;
Prepare and post the official returns;
Return all voting materials to the designated site.

Contributor