Esteemed Contributor

I'm new to Dollar General shopping - new store recently opened nearby...........stopped & shopped once weeks ago.  Tonight opened a new tube of major brand toothpaste and noticed the little round sticker saying.................product intended for sale at Dollar General.  Now I recall at time of purchase - toothpaste usually cost $5 or more for giant size at regular drug stores; but I paid like 2 bucks at DG.     Felt like I was stealing.  Are their low prices based on volume purchasing or something else?  I'm gonna be living at that store! 

Honored Contributor

@fthunt wrote:

I'm new to Dollar General shopping - new store recently opened nearby...........stopped & shopped once weeks ago.  Tonight opened a new tube of major brand toothpaste and noticed the little round sticker saying.................product intended for sale at Dollar General.  Now I recall at time of purchase - toothpaste usually cost $5 or more for giant size at regular drug stores; but I paid like 2 bucks at DG.     Felt like I was stealing.  Are their low prices based on volume purchasing or something else?  I'm gonna be living at that store! 

I think it may be volume.  We have dollar stores and 99 cent stores.  In fact I stopped in and purchased a light bulb.  When I am baking for someone I go to the dollar store and purchase zip lock containers and I don't have to worry about getting the container back.Smiley Happy

Respected Contributor

@fthunt That is the norm for dollar general. We do a lot of shopping there. But I like dollar tree the best. If you have one, their prces are all a dpllar and they have more of a variety.

Respected Contributor

I LOVE DOLLAR GENERAL!

Honored Contributor

I shop heavily at my local one because they accept manufacturer's coupons and their digital ones. I can amass a well-stocked stockpile which allows me to gift to my college age son and not shop for certain household items for months.

Honored Contributor