Respected Contributor

Re: Curriculum for One

[ Edited ]

@lolakimono I am a retired school administrator, Ph.d also. I dealt with a lot of 504 plans .I would never recommend removing the entire piece of curriculum, but rather create something that wouod accommodate her needs.

• Whoever is in charge of her 504 plan would be responsible for this. Could she go to the media center and work on different projects related to Spanish? Legally , if I remember, if the 504 plan is only for anxiety, nothing needs to be accommodated. 

most BOEs have no clue about classroom stuff.

Do the parents know about this??? Sometimes, as you well know, kids try to pull stuff for the dramatic effectt

i wish yiur friend well. I lurk in the Saturdayam style  thread.💕

Respected Contributor

Changing the curriculum to cater to this student will do nothing to ready her for the real world. That is important education to get as well.

Highlighted
Honored Contributor

Things are mighty different from when I was in school.  

It would be either attend the class or fail.  I appreciate the firm discipline, now, because life isn't accommodating.  My school wouldn't neglect other students for someone who couldn't handle the course. 

Would be helpful to know the diagnosis of her eating disorder.  With her anxiety, as well, sounds like she needs psychological treatment.  That is her parents responsibility, not the school's.  

Honored Contributor

@sydsgma1 wrote:

@lolakimono I am a retired school administrator, Ph.d also. I dealt with a lot of 504 plans .I would never recommend removing the entire piece of curriculum, but rather create something that wouod accommodate her needs.

• Whoever is in charge of her 504 plan would be responsible for this. Could she go to the media center and work on different projects related to Spanish? Legally , if I remember, if the 504 plan is only for anxiety, nothing needs to be accommodated. 

most BOEs have no clue about classroom stuff.