Respected Contributor

Cooking....Am I the Only One?

This was the last straw.  Yesterday I made a beef stew that I've made a 100 times.  

It had NO taste at all.   My husband will eat anything and has only asked me once in 25 years not to make something again.   He was very polite but basically said it was bad.   I agreed 100%.   In fact, I didn't even finish the bowl.  

Later last night I added beef broth to it and cooked it some more.   We're going to give it another go tonight but it smells just the same as yesterday.  

I told DH that I was basically done with cooking.   I'm a good cook and have been cooking for 50 years so I know what I'm doing.   I cannot figure out why the stew was so tasteless and bad.  

From now on, unless I have a craving for something, I'm basically buying food that you heat and eat or make salads or have lots of finger food in the fridge.  No more chopping, dicing, cooking only to get tasteless food. 

Is anyone else on board for this?  Want to join me?   

Honored Contributor

Re: Cooking....Am I the Only One?

@Bridgegal sometimes it's just due to a bad cut of meat.  I occasionally succumb to flops...it happens...go easy on yourself!

Where have you gone, Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns its lonely eyes to you.... ~ S & G
Honored Contributor

I've never been much of a cook. I CAN cook, but I just don't enjoy it. 

I got married when when I was 35 and married a firefighter who was gone every 3rd day so I didn't get much practice cooking and really didn't have the desire. 

Now that I no longer work and my husband is retired, we go out to eat quite a bit. Like most days. We go out for lunch and then my husband eats a sandwich or something for dinner. 

If we do eat at home, it's usually a rotisserie chicken from Publix or a Hormel pork roast, which is easy to make. Or a vegetable lunch. Really nothing more complicated than that.  We eat our main meal at lunch. 

Why is it, when I have a 50/50 guess at something, I'm always 100% wrong?