Esteemed Contributor

Calling all consultants: I would appreciate your advice.

After having retired mid-2013, I had every intention of starting a consulting business within 6 months. However, I became ill, followed by a total knee, followed by long-term rehab and now another surgery in February.

The good in all this is that I have had THE call I had been waiting for from Harvard Medical School. I bet most of you could write a book on the subject of being a consultant, but my initial question regards what my hourly rate should be. This probably varies per area of specialty, education, geographic location and much more.

Suffice to say I have 2 BAs, an RN, a lifetime secondary teaching credential and an additional 2 years of graduate school. The work I will be doing is specific to the development of surgical training facilities for medical schools; curricula for such programs; running such programs; and, teaching microvascular surgery. Additionally, I have many years experience with vendors, the "tools of the trade" (surgical instruments), international contacts, am published and can claim a fine reputation with both military and civilian personnel and facilities.

I live on the west coast. My first consult will be in MA. Can someone ballpark an hourly rate I should charge?

(Please - I know these are the Q forums, but we have a fine mix of folks who drop by here. This is just one place I have decided to ask this question.)

Thanks in advance to those who offer a reply.

Respectfully,

~R

Respected Contributor

Re: Calling all consultants: I would appreciate your advice.

I can't help you with an hourly rate, but I wanted to say Congratulations on getting THE CALL. Good for you.

Esteemed Contributor

I wish I could help you but along with big sister, I congratulate you and wish you lots of luck in your endeavor.