Valued Contributor

Would anyone with personal experience care to share their thoughts on using Rogaine/minoxidil for hair thinning?

Thanks Ladies!

Respected Contributor

I've been using the generic from CVS for about 1-1/2 years on a spot at the hairline in front that had really thinned out.  I use the men's formula, and apply it only at bedtime.

it took awhile, but after about 5-6 month my stylist said she was seeing a lot of "baby hairs" in that spot.  

That spot that started out really sparse is back now by about 25%.  The generic minoxidil isn't expensive....i wait for a 40% coupon from CVS.  

I don't know how it works if you want to use it all over your scalp....I only treat that one spot on my own head.

Good luck...if you decide to use it, I hope you get great results!

Honored Contributor

Re: Rogaine users?

[ Edited ]

My neighbor has been using generic Rogaine, Minoxidil,  all over the top of her head and down the back about halfway for about 1 1/2 years.  About 50% has returned, but she started soon after she noticed hair loss.  You can't wait too long or it won't return.  

She gets it at Walmart for about $18, 3 month supply.  5% for $16.88 at Sam's Club for a 6 month supply, a great price.  

Her biopsy showed male pattern baldness, called female pattern baldness on women.  It doesn't work for anything else. 

She uses 5% two times weekly.  2% the other days.  The men's, 5%, can cause hair growth on the face.  She read the 2% doesn't work as well as the 5%, the reason for using the 5% twice weekly.  

She said she began seeing hair growth at around 2 months in small areas of her scalp.  Hair didn't come in uniformly at the same time.  At 4 months, it was noticeable all over.

She noticed the new hair is very dry and sometimes wiry.  She is using something for dry hair, but I can't remember the brand.  She doesn't complain because she's thankful Minoxidil works.