Contributor

I ordered the HairMax Special Value from February 20th.  I am debating as to whether I should cancel it as I am reading on Amazon that some people shed a lot of hair before it helped.  This terrifies me as I don't want to lose anymore hair.  I have used Good Hair Day by Joann Rivers that has done a good job of covering up my hair loss near the front of my head behind my bangs.  Has anyone had a bad hair shedding problem with this?  I have tried vitamins and they don't seem to help. 

Honored Contributor

Re: HairMax question for users

I've been using a hair laser for several years. Never had any shedding issues. 

Just so you know...you have to use the laser on clean scalp, no Great Hair Day powder on it because the powder will block the laser light from reaching your hair follicles.

Honored Contributor

Reviews on the Q for the laser 9 are not very good, and yes, shedding is reported in the reviews. I did not order, becasue i keep Toppik hair fibers in my scalp at all times, and so the laser would be blocked as stated in the previous post.

Respected Contributor

@Born2type, this is directly from their website and is also discussed in the owner's manual:

When the follicles in androgenetic alopecia (hereditary/pattern hair loss) become miniaturized they produce fine, wispy hairs. The laser energy stimulates the follicles to shed these diseased hairs to make way for new healthy hair. The amount of shedding is variable between individuals, and some people have little to no shedding depending on the severity of the condition. It is important to know that the HairMax laser devices DO NOT IN ANY WAY damage hair and if you were to stop treatment your hair would return to the state it was before you used the device.

Respected Contributor

@SilleeMee, I have a couple of questions for you as mine came today!  Smiley Happy