Honored Contributor

MATTE FLAT SATIN EGGSHELL SEMI-GLOSS, OH MY!!!!

The contractors have a several weeks to go, but the painters contacted us to choose colors and finishes. Huh? We built this house 22 years ago, repainted twice using the original painter/colors and no decisions needed to be made.

We went to Home Depot, painters want to use Behr paint (1 coat) since a lot of the house is now a dark taupe. DH calls it "grocery bag brown". We're now going w/ a warm, very light greige. Guess how many there are? At least 50 "chips" to choose from under the whites, the greys, and the beiges. As an artist, I could see blue, green or pink undertones in most colors, so I looked for a color under the neutrals. That said, then there are different finishes for various rooms. What?!?!? 

The fellow in the paint dept. sat down with me and explained the flat/matte, satin, eggshell, etc. dilemma. I think I get it now. We have 10 huge buckets of paint stacked on plastic in the front hall. More to be delivered later. Each one is labeled in black marker where it goes. Some of the painters do not speak English, so when it's time for them to begin, their boss comes over to explain everything. At that point, it's out of my hands if mistakes are made.

I'm hiding out in my studio, plastic taped over the doorway until the work begins in here. My jewelry tools, stones and other supplies are already sealed in plastic & gas/torch/ tanks moved so can't get knocked over and explode. I'm at the other end of studio where I can listen to my soothing classical music, paint and the guys know where to find me with questions. I have my own bathroom, TV, Kerurig, "dorm frig." & a microwave up here, too. I'm set for the duration. Before this is over, I may need a wine frig., too. Lol 😂 

Esteemed Contributor

Re: MATTE FLAT SATIN EGGSHELL SEMI-GLOSS, OH MY!!!!

I'm glad every room in my house is off white semi gloss except the kitchen and bathrooms which are enamel.

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]