Trusted Contributor

Help Please - Work Problem - UGH!

Supervisor called and explained a problem he wants me to assist with.

This is something I have no knowledge of and no expertise.  I told him I really don't think I will be able to help as this is something I have no knowledge of.  I told him in my opinion I believe this should go to our legal department.

He said he'd like me to prepare something to then forward to legal to review.  I again told him this is something I do not think I can be of any assistance.

He then said something like "I know you can" and "thinking out this problem with help you grow".  He said I should put on my "thinking cap" and we'll talk tomorrow.   He would not accept from me that I do not have the answers to his problem

I did not tell him, but I was thinking it  - I do not want to "grow".  I plan on giving my notice to retire in about 8 months.

Help - any suggestions on what I can say to get it through to him that this is beyond my scope of work.  He just did not seem to accept that he's going to the wrong person for assistance.

I'm wondering if someone told him to prepare the document for legal and he's now pushing it on me!   :-(

Honored Contributor

Re: Help Please - Work Problem - UGH!

@BunSnoop wrote:

Supervisor called and explained a problem he wants me to assist with.

This is something I have no knowledge of and no expertise.  I told him I really don't think I will be able to help as this is something I have no knowledge of.  I told him in my opinion I believe this should go to our legal department.

He said he'd like me to prepare something to then forward to legal to review.  I again told him this is something I do not think I can be of any assistance.

He then said something like "I know you can" and "thinking out this problem with help you grow".  He said I should put on my "thinking cap" and we'll talk tomorrow.   He would not accept from me that I do not have the answers to his problem