Highlighted
Frequent Contributor

Gift for a Rabbi

I am a personal trainer who has a rabbi as a client. He is retiring from his congregation next month and will be moving away. I'd like to get him a small gift ($25-50) but I'm rather stumped as to what to get. No books, as he is selling most of his enormous library. Any suggestions?

Honored Contributor

Re: Gift for a Rabbi

[ Edited ]

Amazon.com gift card. 

You can place it in a "good luck on your new chapter' - type card with a personal message.

Nice of you to think of him.  8)

“Green is the prime color of the world, and that from which its loveliness arises.”
(Pedro Calderon de la Barca)
Contributor

I  think that a mezuzah for a door in his new home would be much appreciated. They come in a variety of styles and sizes in a wide price range. Many are within the price  range that you quoted. You can buy them on-line or in a Judaica shop. You can also Google this item if you are not already familiar with it to find out more about it. I think it is lovely that you are giving your rabbi client a farewell gift.

Respected Contributor

@Q-Checker  not meaning to hijack but would one get a new mezuzah for each new home or would you leave it behind for the new homeowners when leaving your old place?

I am a gentile but I do understand their meaning and significance.

Respected Contributor

The family that owned the house before us were Jewish and left the mezuzah behind. We have left it up though we aren’t of the Jewish faith. I don’t  know if this is customary or an oversight but we are happy to have the blessing. 

Contributor