Respected Contributor

Re: Do You Know Many Women over the Age of 45 Who Regret not Having Children?

I've known my whole life that it would not be a good idea for me to have children.  As my lung disease progresses, I am blessed to have my husband and parents to support me.  They definitely understand what I am going through.  I am also an elementary school teacher so I feel that I can touch the lives of children in my classroom each year. 

I'm not short...I'm fun size!
Honored Contributor

Yeah, you can get your good dose and come home to peace and quiet. Haha

I'll never forget what I read in dear Abby years ago.  This priest said "I think everybody should have kids why should  some get to escape it".   

Cracked us up.

Respected Contributor

@SharkE wrote:

Yeah, you can get your good dose and come home to peace and quiet. Haha

I'll never forget what I read in dear Abby years ago.  This priest said "I think everybody should have kids why should  some get to escape it".   

Cracked us up.

Exactly!  I feel like I fulfil my purpose of teaching and reaching children and then I can come home to my DH and just be a small family!

I'm not short...I'm fun size!
Trusted Contributor

I think that a great way to think about having kids is....say you give birth to a baby and he or she is disabled in some way.  He or she will need to be taken care of by you for the rest of his life and will not be able to have a family of his own.   Does the thought of that make you feel as though your life was ruined, or that your life had been given a purpose? Would you imagine that to be a gift or a curse?  Anything is possible with a child.  People picture cute babies and they forget about the diffucult times.

I do not know that anyone I know without kids regrets it.  They certainly do not seem to (late 40s/early 50s) and seem to be the ones in my group running marathons and taking amazing trips.  I know many, many parents who have had a tough time with their kids though.