Honored Contributor

I had a bag of tulips left over that I have ben storing in a cold closet right by my front door. They have all started to slightly "sprout."

I bought two large containers and planted the tulips and watered them today and placed them on a covered outdoor porch. We will probably have at least 10 more weeks of pretty consistent below freezing weather...we can't plant annuals like coleus until Memorial Day here in Buffalo!

Do you think that they will bloom this spring?

At this point I'm considering it an "experiment"!

Esteemed Contributor

@terrier3, great minds think alike.  I had a couple of bulbs pop out of the ground a couple of weeks ago in a thaw.  I took them in, planted them in some soil and have been keeping them barely moist.  I have green tips sprouting.  I think they will bllom but I am no bulb expert.  Promising signs though and better than letting the squirrels run off with them!  LM

Esteemed Contributor
@terrier3, yes, should bloom, but Google 'forcing bulbs'. You might want to bring them into a warmer area.
Esteemed Contributor

@terrier3@x Hedge, you can also force blooms by cutting shrubs like forsythia and witch hazel but trimming the shrub and bringing them inside and placing in a vase. They will bloom if they have buds.  It is what @x Hedge calls forcing.  A nice touch of Spring in the winter months.  LM

Esteemed Contributor
Hi @Lilysmom. I know what you are referring to, but the OP was asking about bulbs. Her bulbs have started to sprout indoors, unplanted, so she can choose one of the forcing methods to let them continue to their full bloom now indoors, then plant them outside in fall 2018, and have them bloom out there in spring 2019.
Respected Contributor

@terrier3