Frequent Contributor

I'm not very tech savvy, so I thought I'd ask here for some information.

I know that some iPads are made to connect to a cellular service for internet access when not in a WiFi zone. My question is -- if an iPad is NOT made to connect to a cellular service, can you still insert a SIM card and get some type of temporary cellular connection? I saw something online about inserting SIM cards into iPads but did not understand the details. (Yes, I do know there are different types of SIM cards for different models of iPad.)

I will look at the Apple website for information and will ask plenty of questions if/when I go into my local Apple store, but I would like to have a little better understanding of 4G capabilities before I go to the store.

Thank you in advance for whatever help/info you can provide. Wink

Honored Contributor

The wifi only ipads don't have a slot for a sim card. But you can use a wireless hotpot device or create one if you have a phone able to make one.

Don't Change Your Authenticity for Approval
Super Contributor

Agree with jaxs mom. No sim card slot. I got an iPad Air2 with 4G because I want to be able to connect whenever I need to. I take my grandkids to dance, sports, swim, etc., and many of these places do not have wifi and I hate sitting in the stands with nothing to do.

As stated, you can use a hotspot (separately purchased) or your iPhone as a hotspot. However, be aware that if you use your iPhone as a hotspot for your iPad it seems to really use up a lot of your data allowance. HTH

Frequent Contributor
Thank you for both of the replies. I may go with a mobile hot spot, but that's a whole other subject to research. Smiley Happy
Frequent Contributor
I have a wifi only IPad because I also have an IPhone. My husband has a hotspot on his phone. When we go out of town we can use his hotspot for up to 5 devices. We have AT&T. I think the hotspot is an extra $10 a month.
Honored Contributor