Honored Contributor

Hope for us Equifax breach people

Here is a glimmer of hope for those of us who had our information hacked from Equifax.

They finally fixed their website glitches enough that I was finally allowed to activate my free monitoring account with them this morning after 5 days.  

When you sign in, you can look at your Equifax credit report.  I'm glad I had put down my morning tea so I didn't spit it out.

My employer was listed as the college I graduated from almost 25 years ago!  

Now I did have college work study to help pay my way through.  But I have been employed with maybe 5-6 other companies after I graduated.  In fact, I just celebrated my 16th anniversary with my latest employer last week.

I have my Experian credit report monitored for free by AAA.  When I checked with them, they have the correct employer although it's spelled wrong.

Maybe we shouldn't be so panicked about our information being out.  It's neither spelled right or about 25 years old.  Smiley Very Happy

But at least they had the most important part right on both.  I do pay my bills on time all the time.    

Respected Contributor

Re: Hope for us Equifax breach people

[ Edited ]

I just want to add here that yesterday we got a great scam email....it said that one of our credit cards had unusual activity on it so click here NOW to "restore your account" .. HA. YEAH RIGHT....the crooks are now using the hack to do their own hack. DH went to our credit card account on the credit card account's site and NO such scary info at all. A fake "alert" from more crooks. Be careful and ignore any emails like this. Go to the REAL online site of any company who supposidly is "alerting" you. Scammers everywhere! Be smarter than the crooks!

Honored Contributor

I just feel really angry about the whole thing.We have to work harder at protecting our assets from those who prefer to steal than to work hard.These people are anywhere in the world and will probably never be stopped.