Valued Contributor

Need to replace my recliner loveseat.

DH and I went to a well known recliner furniture store today.  We found what we liked but not a good color for our living room.  The price tag said $3300.  They said the color we needed was a 'custom order'.  But they would give us military discount - yay!  The only difference between the floor model and what we wanted was a different color.  The price including tax and some kind of damage waranty was over $6000!   Delivery was extra and the whole order would take over 8 weeks.  This was a leather loveseat with a console and with power recline.  The cream leather was $3300 - our dark red leather would be over $6000!  Is that reasonable?

Esteemed Contributor

Re: Need to replace my recliner loveseat.

@Nicecupoftea

You're kidding right?  I've been sleeping in many "lounge chair recliners" for over 25 years and I haven't spent over $400 for any of them. Most of them were in the $300 category. I have not found a single one of them to be anything but what I expected when I "tried them out" in the store before making the purchase.

Guess it depends on what a person wants to spend their money on, its up to them. Now I did just spend over $3000 for a new TV set, but it does more than just provide a place for me to park my tuukas. I will get a whole lot more use out of ourTV set than I ever would in any of my recliners, and that includes my sleeping in them nightly.

"To each be their own".

hckynut(john)

hckynut(john)
Respected Contributor

Yikes!  That sounds like an awfully high price tag for one piece of furniture.  Does it have to be that brand & does it have to be leather?  I think I would shop around some more before making a final decision.  For that kind of money, it should last a very long time.

Your decision, of course.  You may have an income that can easily handle that kind of expenditure.  If so, then good for you!

Super Contributor