Honored Contributor

I would do all that you are doing and if it doesn't resolve itself in a few days, I'd go to see my doctor because people do get salivary gland infections that call for antibiotics.  It's actually quite common, I work in healthcare and I see it all the time.  Also, people can get stones...similar to gallstones...that block the gland.

Esteemed Contributor

@Mothertrucker wrote:

@SeaMaiden wrote:

@twinkies @AngelPuppy1 @janeec @AuntMame @x Hedge  

Just an update since you were all so kind to share your thoughts....

I made an appointment with my dentist for this coming Thursday  to see if this swelling is tooth related first.  I would have gone tomorrow, Wednesday, but,  I am scheduled for a Posterior capsule opacity (PCO)  correction in both eyes after having cataract surgery a year ago and do not want to cancel the appointment.  Takes forever to get in for that!

If this swelling in my left jaw is not tooth related....then I will go see my Doctor to find out if it is something else. 

Usually for me, I get a tooth ache first, and then my face swells up...I know it is a tooth....so I really do not know if it is a tooth as I have no discomfort at this time with my teeth. So that's why I assumed it was a gland swelling for some other reason.

i will let you know what the dentist thinks after seeing him on Thursday.

It can often be a salivary "stone", kind of like a tiny kidney stone, formed  and lodged in the salivary  duct...