Honored Contributor

my thyroid hormone needs adjusting

I just got a call from my Drs office telling me to cut back my armour, by 1/2  pill pr week. It doesn't seem like much ,but ,I know these pills  are powerful

I will be tested again in 2 months. I have never had this happen before ,and I am a bit concerned about developing a thyroid storm..Is this a common occurrence when taking this  hormone?

Respected Contributor

Re: my thyroid hormone needs adjusting

@cherry wrote:

I just got a call from my Drs office telling me to cut back my armour, by 1/2  pill pr week. It doesn't seem like much ,but ,I know these pills  are powerful

I will be tested again in 2 months. I have never had this happen before ,and I am a bit concerned about developing a thyroid storm..Is this a common occurrence when taking this  hormone?

Hi @cherry   While I'm NOT an expert by any means on this subject, I have limited info to just mention to you.  Don't worry!  It can take quite some time to find just the right amount of meds.  Rarely is the initially-prescribed dosage "perfect."  Usually takes some tweaking, and it's always very small tweaks.  I have to mention, though, just to make sure that the Armour med is THE BEST med for you.  I know for the majority of thyroid med users, Synthroid is typically the most-prescribed and best option, but everyone is different.  Again, I'm not an expert, just someone who had hyperthyroidism 10 years ago and went through this similar situation.  I was lucky to only need a very, very, very low dosage, was on it a short time, and have been in "remission" for 8 years.  Obviously, your doctor knows what's best for you, but YOU need to be your own advocate so don't hesitate to speak up and and ask questions.  Best of luck!  

Honored Contributor