Honored Contributor

You would think getting enough naturally sourced Vitamin C would be easy

[ Edited ]

AC3855BB-54EB-4688-8FDB-93F0B26998D9.jpegI have some chewing problems. I’m always trying to get enough Vitamin C from natural sources and not added into foods and drinks after cooking or pasteurization (such as in commercial orange juice, for example). The Vitamin C content of foods is much lower than one would think. I use my Vitamix and blend red bell peppers, citrus, tomatoes and other fruit and veggies to meet my requirements but it isn’t easy. For example, I just blended 6 whole Campari tomatoes with a bit of water and this will only meet half the daily requirements for Vitamin C. This is my first time tasting these tomatoes. Last night I ate three, unblended with a bit of dressing. They taste great but they have the toughest skin of any tomato. I couldn’t even get my fork to pierce the skins. This morning when I checked their nutrient content I couldn’t believe how low in Vitamin C this variety of tomato is. 

Honored Contributor

🥔🥔🥔🥔🥔

[ Edited ]

@Mindy D 

Just eat a potato!

My beautiful taters are vitamin powerhouses!

1 large tater has 37mg of vitamin C....half your RDA, if you choose to track.

Done!

B852231F-6883-4740-B810-4696D7465697.jpeg

Honored Contributor

Re: 🥔🥔🥔🥔🥔

[ Edited ]

I just take a 100% pure ascorbic acid powder and add it to my daily green drink. The VC powder makes it tart and I like that. The VC also enhances the phytonutrients in the greens and also gives them more antioxidant properties as well as increased bioavailability. I could never eat enough food to get the amount of VC I need, especially with my medical condition. Supplementation is the only way I can get enough of it.

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

@SilleeMee wrote: