Esteemed Contributor

WATERPIKS ~ ANY RECOMMENDATIONS??

Having never used one, I have no experience with these.  I noticed online that there are many makes and models.  Does anyone have one they really like that they can suggest?  OR is one as good as another?

TIA

Fear not Brothers and Sisters! I have read THE BOOK..........we win!!!
Trusted Contributor

Re: WATERPIKS ~ ANY RECOMMENDATIONS??

[ Edited ]

I use the Waterpik Ultra Water Flosser.  I've been using a Waterpik for years and love it.  Hope this helps.

Esteemed Contributor

Long ago when I had braces I used one.  Now my dentist says to just floss and use an electric toothbrush.  He maintains that more plaque is removed this way.  Which is the name of the game after all.

Honored Contributor

Waterpik and Sonic Tooth Brush: Different tools are both important for maintaining hygiene and gum care. 

Trusted Contributor

[ Edited ]

@Still Raining wrote:

Long ago when I had braces I used one.  Now my dentist says to just floss and use an electric toothbrush.  He maintains that more plaque is removed this way.  Which is the name of the game after all.

Every dentist I've had, has said the same.

Electric toothbrush and floss. Maybe, they don't feel it's worth the extra expense for the Pik.

But, I think if you enjoy using a Waterpik, why not? As long as you do something. I think the jury's still out on which (if either) is more effective. 

Honored Contributor

I wouldn't recommend the cordless/rechargable.  

IMO the force behind it was wimpy and the entire unit didn't last long before it had to be thrown away.

Trusted Contributor

Well my dental office recommends a waterpik.  The dental hygentist suggested going to Costco and getting the one that comes with a travel size.  She said the travel size is actually the perfect size, and uses that every day instead of the standard one.

Respected Contributor