Trusted Contributor

Re: Vitamin D supplement dosage amounts

Hi @SunSprite ,

Since you're asking others what they do, I'm under a doctor's care. too.

He'll check for certain vitamin and mineral deficiencies, and then he'll have you take an additional supplement if he thinks that it's necessary.

My Vitamin D levels when first checked were found to be very low.

I live in Wisconsin. We don't get the strong sun here like those farther south of us do.

I have been able to increase my Vitamin D levels by taking an over-the-counter Vitamin D3 supplement, recommended by my doctor.

I take 5,000 IUs of Vit. D3 daily, once a day. every day, and I have been doing that for several years now.

It took some time, but my levels are now in the normal range. 

I also see my PCP a couple of times a year--at least twice a year, but I'm going back to seeing him every 3 months due to changes in my chronic health issues.

He has me go for blood work before each visit with him. 

Sometimes he varies the type of blood work that he wants tested before each visit, since I'll be seeing him more often.

For example, he might check one level of one thing at one 3 month visit, and then check another level of something at the next one, so not everything is being tested again at every 3 month visit, unless it's something that he is carefully monitoring.

Honored Contributor

@SeaMaiden wrote:

I have been taking 5000 IU a day for probably 20 years.  My blood work shows my D levels to be good. 

I do the same.  I've read studies that mention having good Vit. D levels to help prevent or lessen illnesses such as viruses.

Respected Contributor

I dont want to blow everybody's minds, but I take 250,000 IU's per DAY!

Honored Contributor

@Mothertrucker wrote:

I dont want to blow everybody's minds, but I take 250,000 IU's per DAY!

@Mothertrucker 

Doesn't blow my mind. Just Y ?

hckynut

hckynut(john)
Honored Contributor

@SilleeMee wrote: