Honored Contributor

@Tricolor wrote:

I worked in healthcare for many years before retiring and one of my jobs was to discuss test results with a patient. I would never have called a patient that late on a Friday knowing that the office would be closing. Try not to think the worst. That's easier said than done. Hopefully it's nothing to be concerned about.

@Tricolor   That must have been before the Affordable Healthcare Act, 2010.

Honored Contributor

@hookedonq wrote:

My OB GYN office left a message on my voice mail at 3:50pm on Friday to call back to discuss my Pap results...and the office closed at 4pm! Of course, I got the message at 4pm and now have to worry all weekend. Am I being too severe to say that I think this is a less than thoughtful approach and they should have waited until Monday? I am trying to keep calm but have to admit it is upsetting.

@hookedonq   I have to agree with you and honestly I would say something.  It doesn't matter if it's something serious or not at all...why make a patient worry so much all weekend?!!

I will pray for you that it is something minor.  Try to relax a bit if you can.

Super Contributor

Unfortunately, office workers in trying to clear their desk off for the weekend do not think many times.  The same thing happened to me yesterday but I was able to get someone in the office about a negative test result!  I have found over the years that doctors and attorneys get to paper work at the end of the week and this prompts the calls.  I have spend a few bad weekends due to this type of call.  I do think better judgement could be used in making the call.  I do not believe the caller is allowed to leave the results even if negative.  I know many times I have told the staff, I am the only one who gets my messages please leave one!

I hope all is well with your test results.

Honored Contributor

@VaBelle35 wrote:

@hookedonq wrote: