Honored Contributor

I have tinnitus.  I don't have hearing loss.  In fact my doctor says I have exceptional hearing for my age.  It's not a wooshing sound or a buzzing sound.  It's a very high pitched, like feedback sort of sound continuously.  I can't narrow it down to a specific ear.  It can be so loud I can't believe it can't be heard by someone standing next to me, much less someone with a stethoscope. 

My ENT has no reason for it.  Not wax.  And the only thing he recommends for it is a supplement that he says works for some.  It's called Lipo-Flavonoid Plus.  But you have to take it 3X/Day forever, assuming it actually works for you.  I chose not to bother.  

I do sleep with a sound machine, but I have been doing that for over 20 years so I can't say it helps with the tinnitus when I sleep.  The tinnitus could be the reason I feel the need for background noise almost all the time unless I'm outside.  

Respected Contributor

@bonnielu most people don't even realize I wear one.  Now that my hair is super short (regrowth after losing it), I'm sure they can see the aid behind my ear, but it's no different than wearing glasses.  If you pay attention, you will see a great many people wear hearing aids.  Don't let your ego get in the way.  I hate not being able to hear people and it is annoying to others when you keep saying "What?" every time they speak. (I don't know if you do that).  Hearing loss can lead to other issues, including isolating yourself because you don't hear conversations.

If you do have hearing loss, don't cheat yourself--wear the hearing aids.  They are so small now, they really are unnoticeable.  I started wearing them when I was 55.

Respected Contributor

@bonnielu wrote:

Just saw this post.  I have had sudden hearing loss with Tinnitus.  Left ear but with treatment to my a rountine MRI. Needless to say I am a bit scared.  

I really don't want hearing aids.  Not wanting anyone to know I have them.  And they tend to be very expensive.